twitter facebook instagram

Boards, Committees & Commissions

Board of Fire and Police Commission
James Brewer, Chairperson
Gloria Clay
Readith Ester
Gene Washington
Marcellus Wells 

Cannibas & Tobacco Commission
Mayor Nathaniel George Booker, Pres.
Felicia Brown-Nelson
Keith Moore
Shabaun Reyes-Plummer
Steven Smiley
Amanda Smith

Community Policing & Public Safety Committee
Trustee Aaron Peppers, Chair
Trustee Isiah Brandon, Co-Chair

Engagement & Communications Committee
Trustee Melvin Lightford Sr., Chair
Trustee Rahmann Williams, Co-Chair

Fire Pension Board
Richard Weikal, President
Daniel Barrett
David Flowers Sr. 
Karen Ross

Fiscal Accountability & Government Transparency Committee
Trustee Miguel Jones, Chair
Trustee Antonio Sanchez, Co-Chair

Historic Landmarks/Preservation Commission
Thomas Kus, Chairman
Matthew Gauthier
Vicki Haas
Kenneth Watkins Jr. 

Infrastructure & Sustainability Committee
Trustee Isiah Brandon, Chair
Trustee Aaron Peppers, Co-Chair

Local Liquor Control Commission
Mayor Nathaniel George Booker, Pres.
Felicia Brown-Nelson
Keith Moore
Shabaun Reyes-Plummer
Steven Smiley
Amanda Smith

Ordinance & Policy Committee
Trustee Rahmaan Williams, Chair
Trustee Miguel Jones, Co-Chair

Planning & Development Committee
Trustee Antonio Sanchez, Chair
Trustee Melvin Lightford Sr., Co-Chair

Planning & Zoning Commission
Sarah Lira, Chairperson
Benjamin Avery
Tennille Campbell
Michael Dawson
Angel Files 
Joseph B. Ratley
William Smith
Lynn Vallow

Police Pension Board
Corey Cooper, Trustee
Robert Dolan, Trustee
Karen Greene, Clerk
Steve Kuptz, Treasurer
Jose Mazariegos, Trustee
Tom McShane, Financial Advisor
Carlos Patterson, Trustee
Elijah Willis, Secretary

Traffic & Safety Sub-Committee
Larice J. Davis
Jacqueline T. Fowler
Chrysanthony Sharp
Joseph A. Wilson

Two Commissions work closely with the Community Development Department. They are as follows:
  1. Plan Commission/Zoning Board of Appeals
  2. Maywood Historic Preservation Commission
Plan Commission/Zoning Board of Appeals
The Plan Commission/Zoning Board of Appeals oversees the Village’s Zoning Code and the Village Code. The Village of Maywood Plan Commission/Zoning Board of Appeals generally meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 7:00pm in the Village Council Chambers, 125 S. 5th Avenue, Maywood.

Maywood Historic Preservation Commission
The Historic Preservation Commission holds hearings and reviews applications for local Landmark properties and Certificates of Appropriateness. The HPC also acts as a resource to the general public providing education in the areas of historic and architectural preservation. The Historic Preservation Commission meets the 1st Thursday of each month at 7:00pm at 125 S. 5th Avenue, in the Council Chamber.

Other Operating Commission(s) in the Village of Maywood:
Liquor Commission
Consist of the Village Board President as the Local Liquor Control Commissioner and five (5) other persons as the President shall appoint with the advice and consent of the Board of Trustees. The President's appointments shall serve for a term of one (1) year and shall assist the President in the exercise of the powers and in the performance of his or her duties that are specified in the state statues and/or in this section and chapter. Persons appointed to the Local Liquor Commission by the President may be reappointed and may serve a maximum of three (3) consecutive 1-year terms. Persons whose membership on the Local Liquor Control Commission ended due to having served three (3) consecutive 1-year terms may not be reappointed until at least one (1) year has elapsed since the conclusion of their membership on the Commission.

Notification sign-up